Ezra 10: Leading from the Front, Making the Tough & Exclusive choice of Jesus Christ Only!

Ezra 10

Leading from the front.

Tough Choices – Jesus or others.

Leaders of the different social structures should lead in repentance, from the head of state, head of churches, heads of organisations, heads of families. It is for them to set the tone for the rest to follow.

In Ezra 10, repentance was led by the Priests, the Levites, the singers, the gate keepers and the rest followed.

It is advisable to always repent in haste while the mercy and grace of God is still available for us . The Lord shall not always contend with men ( Genesis 6:3)??…

#… but we thank You Lord Jesus for Your finished work of the Cross that released to us divine Mercy and activated for us divine grace. Indeed I give thanks to the Lord, for He is good, for His mercy endures forever.

Divorce our pagan wives and send away our children!

Giving up the things I hold dear and really love… all for the Lord!

Sometimes following the Lord demands tough choices. Maybe not sometimes. Following the Lord Jesus demands making a tough and exclusive choice… It is either Him or nothing ( which includes all others) ! Nothing can be put above the Lord, otherwise it is idolatry. Even the rich young ruler when told to sell all he had and follow Jesus could not continue on his walk towards the Lord ( Matthew 19 ).

Probably why the road to Heaven is deemed a narrow road ( Matthew 7:13-14). It is because the only way to the Father is through Jesus while all other ways ( anything not of Jesus) lead to destruction.

We should be able to release anything and everything in our lives, after all it is the Lord that makes all of it possible anyway.

Our heavenly Father led by example ( from the front) by offering His only beloved Son as a sacrifice for our sin.

From Abraham to Steven we are shown examples of giving up ( offering back to God) the most precious things He has given us in the first place.

The most precious thing we have is our life. Can I surrender my life to the Lord?

Most times it is a test of faith, can we offer back to the Lord what He gave us in the first place and trust Him with it!

Our offering it back is our acknowledgement that it is by His Grace anyway that we received it. Doing this is also an act of thanksgiving and usually multiplies the blessing anyway. The 1 leper out of the 10 that returned to thank Jesus was blessed even more ( Luke 17) But we should stand on the Word that the Lord has good plans for us, to prosper us and give us a future and a hope ( Jeremiah 29:11 ).

The question remains can I give up to the Lord that which I love most, whether my life, my spouse or my child, if called to by the Lord?

# Lord God give me the grace to pass any tests of faith that come my way. Lead me not into temptation and deliver me from all evil. Grant me the strength and courage to always listen and obey all of Your commands even if it does not make sense to me or seems impossible in my eyes.

For all the leadership roles You have graciously granted me, whether in the home, in ministry, in society… may I always lead from the front in listening and obedience to Your Word and if I am in the wrong, in repentance.

I acknowledge that indeed it is not by power, nor by might but by Your Spirit oh Lord. Grant me Your Spirit to guide me in all my ways and the grace to tackle the hard issues still in my life that are contrary to Your Word and Your ways. Indeed nothing is impossible for You Lord and I can do all things through Christ Jesus who strengthens me. Amen!

Leave a Reply

